2013 UK Picture Editors' Guild Awards winners announced and on display

The 2013 UK Picture Editors’ Guild Awards winners were announced on 5 November and now a free exhibition of the winners' and runners' up images is on display in the rotunda of the Museum of London. This year's overall prize, the SABMiller Photographer of the Year, went to Stefan Wermuth of Reuters. Alan Sparrow, UK Picture Editors' Guild Chairman, said: ‘This year’s entries produced some of the closest scoring amongst our judges, but a clear winner emerged early. I think that the work of Stefan Wermuth makes him an outstanding SABMiller Photographer of the Year.’

Andy Murray of Great Britain holds the winner’s trophy up to the  spectators after defeating Novak Djokovic of Serbia in the men's  singles final at the Wimbledon Championships.  © Stefan Wermuth / Reuters

Entries were received from over 400 photographers across the UK and in addition to the Photographer of the Year prize, twelve further categories had prizes awarded. These included the Genesis Regional Photographer of the Year, which went to Anthony Chappel-Ross of The Press, York; the Nikon Sports Photographer of the Year, won by Adrian Dennis from Agence France-Presse; and the UK Picture Editors’ Guild Photo Essay of the Year taken by Jack Hill of The Times.

CO Vaudin of 2 Signal Regiment embraces his son, Nicholas, 12,  on his return from Afghanistan. Anthony Chappel-Ross © The Press, York

The exhibition runs until 16 March 2014 at the Museum of London, 150 London Wall, LONDON EC2Y 5HN.

The full list of winners:

SABMiller Photographer of the Year - Stefan Wermuth, Reuters

Bloomberg Business Photographer of the Year - Jason Alden, Bloomberg/The Independent Highly Commended - Stefan Wermuth Commended - Leon Neal, Anthony Devlin

British Airways Fashion and Entertainment Photographer of the Year - Dave Benett, The London Evening Standard Highly Commended - Jason Alden Commended - Lia Toby, Jon Enoch

BT Citizen Photographer of the Year - Björn Olsson Highly Commended - James Wood Commended - Eleanor Bennett, Ian Barstow

Fixation Young Photographer Bursary - David Hedges, South West News Service Highly Commended - Chris Fairweather Commended - Daniel Mullan, Jack Taylor

Getty Royal Photographer of the Year - Mark Stewart, Freelance Highly Commended - Chris Jackson Commended - Andrew Parsons, John Stillwell

Genesis Regional Photographer of the Year - Anthony Chappel-Ross, The Press, York Highly Commended - Frank Dwyer Commended - Stephen Garnett, Mike Tipping

Nikon Sports Photographer of the Year - Adrian Dennis, Agence France-Presse Highly Commended - Ian MacNicol Commended - Mike Egerton, Rebecca Naden

Nikon Videographer of the Year - David Hedges, South West News Service Highly Commended - Julian Simmonds Commended - Edmond Terakopian

OpenText News Photographer of the Year - Stefan Wermuth, Reuters Highly Commended - Justin Tallis Commended - Jack Hill, Dave Thompson

UK Picture Editors’ Guild Photo Essay of the Year - Jack Hill, The Times Highly Commended - Rick Findler Commended - John Giles, William Wintercross

UK Picture Editors' Guild Chairman's Award - Paul Delmar, Press Photography/Photo-Journalism Consultant